Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Several experts claim that studying a new language apart from the mother tongue at elementary school instead of secondary school is more beneficial for students. This essay would agree that the benefits of the trend are more significant than the drawbacks.

One disadvantage of this trend is that primary school teachers might not have sufficient language ability to instruct the students. To be more specific, it requires fewer credentials and less academic knowledge for them to be qualified as an educator compared to teachers of higher levels, so they may not possess the necessary skills to deliver the assigned lessons properly. Another negative aspect is that young children could be at risk of not being capable of balancing the use of their first and second language. For example, some kids experience problems forming a complete sentence in either their mother tongue or the newly learned language as they face trouble mixing up the vocabulary. Hence, this could cause them confusion when communicating with those speaking one language only.

However, the drawbacks above pale in comparison with the advantages. Firstly, elementary students are more receptive to learning another language. To explain, taking up a linguistic skill at an early stage of life allows children to gain knowledge more effectively because they tend to reflex on a new language more instinctively and quickly than adults. Another positive aspect is that primary students have more time to learn and use a language than secondary students. Specifically, elementary students tend to endure a workload that is less heavy than their counterparts, which spares them time to study via entertainment channels, allowing them to absorb the language without the need to put in much effort. Thus, they would be of a better advantage when it comes to picking up a new language thanks to the extra time that they have.

In conclusion, the merits of this trend certainly surpass the demerits. By starting their linguistic learning sooner, not only can the students acquire knowledge more quickly, but they will also have more time to get familiar with the new language naturally.