Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience

To begin studying a foreign language at primary school is supposed to be superior to starting at secondary school by several educationalists. In my opinion, while this idea has had several detriments, its significant benefits should be paid more attention by society.

The first major drawback of teaching foreign language in primary school is that it possibly causes stress to children. Indeed, many children are assigned to learn and achieve high scores in multiple subjects, which they may have no capacity to tackle. In addition, a number of youngsters who are learning two languages in a same period are more likely to be confused. This can be seen by the phenomenon that numerous students taking part in two or more language classed have used English words in their mother language writings at the beginning of primary school.

However, after making a considerable effort practicing a foreign language at young ages, several benefits can be easily noticed. Firstly, learning a second language or the third one such as English can make an enormous contribution to the success of youngsters in the future achievements. In fact, once compared with their peers, who have not learnt English at young ages, children who have learnt English early have considerable competitive advantages. For instance, although a few of students have passed the university entrance exam, most of them failed because they have studied English much later than the others.

Moreover, it may be simpler for a person to learn an unfamiliar language when he or she is a child. Obviously, youngsters may be able to pick up languages more effectively than adults. International students are typical examples of success in learning foreign language at young age since the majority of them have been able to pronounce perfectly English words. In contrast, multiple adolescents, who have studied in traditional schools, face many difficulties in learning English due to self-consciousness.

In conclusion, the advantages of this idea have outweighed the disadvantages, which are likely to be overcome by hard-work and determination. Thus, children have been recommended learning a foreign language at primary schools.