Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, almost of primary schools in Vietnam teach foreign language for children, and they think this is a good way for the future generation. It is obvious that a multilingual person has more chances to success than others, however, I totally believe it has many negative impacts. In my opinion, this viewpoint effects not only the children, but also the national culture.

The first disadvantage is the children psychological impact. In the past, a five or six-year-old child had plenty of time to learn and play, and grow up naturally, while today a child has more lessons and homework to do than playing time. They have to learn their mother language and a foreign one parallel, which may cause stress to the child and easily lead to depression and autism. Therefore, a child who learning bilingual in the early year of childhood have a higher risk to get stress and mental illness than others.

Secondly, in particularly, Vietnamese children who learn English in primary school rarely speak Vietnamese natural and fluency as English, because Vietnamese pronunciation is more difficult than English. They get well with English quicker than Vietnamese, thereafter they will like to read English book and documentation than Vietnamese. In the future, a small number of people know the tradition and Vietnamese culture may be lost and fade.

In summary, I adamantly think adult should let children grow up in their own and let them time to learn from play which is the better way than learning bilingual in primary school. By that way, children mind will develop freely with their own ability and they have time to learn about tradition and national culture.