Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people believe that it is more effective if children start learning a second language at primary school instead of secondary school. I strongly agree with this assertion.

First of all, many research studies have shown that young children learn languages more rapidly and easily than adolescents. If adults create interest in languages for children by using foreign songs, cartoon movies of fairy tales, they will enjoy this language. For example, I have had self- verification from my elder brothers. Nam, the first kid of my uncle’s family follows learning process of his school that started studying English at secondary school and at present time, he cannot really express his ideas in English very well. In comparison, his elder brother loves Walt Disney cartoon series, and began learning English when he was still 6 years old. Now, the elder one can speak fluently and confidently this language like his mother tongue.

In addition, children at adolescent ages usually feel shy to pronounce a new language as they could be taken as a joke from their classmates, while brains of children at primary school are programmed to effectively receive the second language.

Moreover, teenagers need to spend more time on studying many difficult subjects including math, chemistry, physics. This causes a reduction in time spent on learning English. In comparison with adolescents, young children have to only concentrate on two main subjects that are math and literature. Consequently, they have much more time for studying their favorite subjects like English.

To conclude, it is true that learning foreign language in primary school is more effective than in secondary school.