Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Specialists have different views about the best age for learning a foreign language. While some argue that it would be better to be learned at secondary school, I believe that the benefits of learning at primary school outweigh the drawbacks.

There are various reasons that experts believe that primary school isn’t a good time for learning a foreign language. They may assert that children should focus on their language first and they may confuse if they try to learn a foreign language besides their mother language. Furthermore, schools should have more focus on other subjects like math, native language, science and …. And these are more important and beneficial than a foreign language. Finally, the process of teaching children is more difficult at childhood. There aren’t satisfactory infrastructures of teaching and education in some countries, which would cause many children to lose their interest in foreign languages.

In spite of these arguments, I believe that it is far better for children to start learning foreign languages at elementary school. In my opinion, children’s learning abilities and brain capacity are far beyond our imagination and they could handle well to learn another language besides their first one. A good example, in this case, is children who were born in bilingual families, they can learn and speak both languages well. At early ages kids can learn much faster, they are less self-conscious or shy. They enjoy copying and could pick up the pronunciation better. Secondly, nowadays languages are just as important as math, etc. finally, by instructing teachers and providing them good facilities, kids everywhere can learn languages through fun and game. They are naturally enthusiastic and enjoy language classes because they are often different from classes in other subjects.

In conclusion, by providing good facilities primary school children can learn foreign languages better and faster due to their passion and learning skills for languages.