Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

People, who have specialized in foreign language studies opine that, children ought to start learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. This essay argues, how learning a foreign at a primary school is more beneficial to the students, than learning the same language at secondary school.

Firstly, the child in his early life does not judge a language whilst learning it. Children at a tender age are like water, they can be molded in any form or shape and hence, when taught at this age, they ought to grasp the language rapidly. However, once they are grown children, they like to rationalize and to compare the foreign language to their mother tongue, which consequently results as a hinderance in learning that language. To illustrate, according to a recent survey, children in primary schools learnt and spoke a foreign language more fluently, than the students who were taught the same language in secondary school. Hence, children should commence learning a foreign language at an early age.

In addition, age plays an important role in absorbing new languages. It is often seen that, earlier the child learns a language, better is the grasping capacity of the child to learn that language, as at an early age, the child is neither under pressure of performance in school nor does the student have any added responsibilities. For instance, once the child is studying in secondary school, one has to cope up with numerous subjects, and hence this leaves very little time for a foreign language to be learnt. Also, being a part of a competition and performing better than other students in the higher grades, is of utmost importance for a child for one’s better future. Therefore, a child is burdened with many responsibilities in secondary school and finds it very difficult to bring everything under one roof and hence, the interest in learning the language in higher grades is lost.

In conclusion, the above illustrations clearly indicate that, the benefits of leaning a foreign language in a primary school certainly outweighs the drawbacks of learning the same in a secondary school, as at an early age there are no responsibilities and there is no comparison between the languages.