Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently debates considering early learning of foreign languages have been gaining vast popularity among scientists. Some of them are convinced that education of other language is more efficient at primary school. On the other hand , there exists an opinion that secondary school is better time to explore something new.

First of all, the lather point of view has some strong argument in the basis. Taking into account an educational program common for most of CTS-countries, the way children are taught at first classes may reduce interests of beginners since 7 years-old children would rather spend their time by playing games, instead of learning another grammar and structure. Consequently, memorising of all rules bores them, thereby children lose excitement and desire to a foreign language. Moreover, when pupils only enter primary school, ignorance of their mother one can be clearly seen. By adding the other, especially with an unfamiliar alphabet, a process of getting known with an own language might be disturbed. As an effect, both the additive and mother will not be properly investigated.

Though several disadvantages should be considered, there are beneficial sides of foreign language installation in primary educational level. Compared with higher school, children have slightly intensive lessons, which are usually conducted in more playful way. Thus, primary school time is less strained for new learners, therefore, beginning earlier may prevent stress occuring due to having lots of unusual abstruse disciplines such as chemistry or physics. Furthermore, children benefit from learning language at primary school. According to few scientific researches, this increases amounts of grey matter in the brain, which is responsible for prinarely transmission of information, memory and physical perception. The theory has been proved that the earlier children start being taught unusual things, the more neuropatterns are made. It leads afterwards to better memory and faster analyse of perceived data, which will be advantageous in the future.

In general, despite existance of various drawbacks and side-effects if teaching in an appropriate system, foreign languages in primary school has overwhelming benefits such as a chance to spend more time and improving cognitive skills of children.