Some experts believe that it is better for Children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some experts have been arguing about learning of foreign language at primary school is far better and effective rather than in secondary school. In this essay, we will be seeing both aspects and evaluate which one tends to be more beneficial.

There have been various research and studies proving the extraordinary capacity of a child to learn various languages at a time. it is explicitly observed that a child in his/her primary school will be able to catch the ideas and learn the language faster in comparison to a teenager or a youngster. the raw clay like mind of a child will be able to capture the accuracy, accents and cope with the language from the beginning allowing them enough time to sharpen their learned abilities in advanced years. for an instance: one of my friend Nepali friends can speak English and French like a native speaker because the school, where he did his schooling was an English medium school with French subject from grade 3. whereas, I, on the other hand, struggle with English because I was exposed to the language in secondary school. This proves that learning a foreign language from the beginning is much easier and comes with benefits. On doing so, a child may sound like a native speaker, it develops confidence, multilingual nature will enable a child to fit in any kind of group. it may also create many opportunities later; in job areas or in professional life.

however, everything comes with a string attached and this one is not an exception. Sometimes this trend might challenge the intellectual ability of a child. There have been many cases of language shock where a child prefers to remain mute as they cannot overcome the transition. they remain confused about the language selection and slowly refrain from the everything they knew before. Secondly, It may also arise as a threat to the mother language as a child might find the new language more attractive and find needless to practice the mother tongue. Therefore, teaching the foreign language at the early age may sometime put one in trouble even though it has many advantages in later life.

in conclusion, there are various benefits for a child to learn the foreign language from the early stage of his/her life. As advancing age will affect the learning capacity, it is highly preferable if the learning starts from the primary level. despite of few advantages (which might not be applicable for everyone), it is wise enough if the teaching of foreign language starts from the primary level as it brings smartness, confidence and opens doors to many opportunities in their later life.