Some feel that cities should be designed to be beautiful while others feel their functionality is more important.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is undeniable that how a city is designed plays a critical role in its future development. A colorful city will become beneficial for tourism whereas functionality brings convenience to the citizens. I believe that a city being well-developed according to its functions will accommodate benefits for people rather than focusing on its outlook.

On the first hand, functionality provides flexibility to meet people’s expectations. It cannot be blamed that these facilities require an amount of money that comes from the government’s expenditure at first, however, it serves for the long-term aspect of the community and therefore it is worthwhile. For example, a city which serves the purpose of cargo should invest more money to improve its transport system while tourism, if it was the main purpose, then money should be spent to maintain the representative and the original form of tourist attractive places and places which have historical- related contents.

On the other hand, it has been observed that there is an increase in exorbitant expenditures on the city sideview. This phenomenon, however, is only being well- adapted for cities which have attractive tourist purposes, and these cities implement that their income will mainly come from this source. However, the priority conditions about places, environment, facilities, etc to become a travel city are normally not met by most of the city, and resulted in a false investment direction, creating a huge debt on the public. Nevertheless, it creates an imbalance in the cities’ economy, for example, making them become fragile when facing an economic crisis because no alternative income can be found, different to the functionality developed in other cities, where flexibilities provide many ways to deal with these circumstances.

In conclusion, I believe that although the beauty of a city is important, the government should consider carefully to accomplish its priority.