Some feel that cities should be designed to be beautiful while others feel their functionality is more important.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, modern cities may be beautiful. Some people feel that these cities and towns should be designed, but others consider that their purpose is more vital. This post will look at both sides of the discussion and my points of view.

On the one hand, beautiful downtowns are chosen by a large number of visitors every year. It is undeniable that people are attracted to beautiful things. As a result, the aesthetic and immersive look of contemporary buildings and their architecture that were designed as a showcase attracts people. To illustrate, Venice, Italy has become one of the most popular tourist attractions in the world due to the poetic canals that run through the city.

On the other hand, I greatly agree with the idea that functional cities are more important than the pretty ones as it sets the backbone of the economy. To be more specific, a well-functioning city will provide full amenities for its people: vehicles, houses, schools, office buildings, amusement parks, etc... are arranged purposefully and for the convenience of the residents. These cities, without a doubt, offer better long-term benefits than well-built cities. Moreover, multi-functional cities often attract businesses and companies to invest and develop, which can later help create a beautiful place.

To conclude, while beautiful cities might help a country earn foreign currency, functioning is the most important element for a country. I believe that if the city were practically organized, it would consequently help the entire nation's improvement.