Some governments provide free healthcare for their citizens, but other governments do not provide any health service at all, and their citizens are expected to rely on private healthcare provision.

The benefits of government-provided free healthcare far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree?

In this modern era, in order to satisfy the urgent need for health services in society, Governments has introduced the free and public healthcare system to all citizens in the world. Since then, there has always been dividing opinion regarding whether government-provided medical services is beneficial to society or not. In this essay, I will argue that private healthcare system should be a better choice for patients than public ones.

At first glance, private medical services are costly to some people; but at a closer look, patients can access better and cutting-edge facilities compared to limited healthcare provision in public systems. With the help of improved devices, treatment will be greatly effective and we can in turn minimize the incidence of treatment failure. Additionally, if the investment from Government is not sufficient to support public healthcare, the standards of treatment can severely decline. Consequently, patients, in general, would suffer from the lack of good-quality health services.

On the other hand, in many developing countries, due to the fact that public healthcare system could provide medical services with a cheaper price, publically funded are becoming more preferable. Most people reject to pay an excessive amount of money for private services; thus, nationalized systems would be more affordable and a better choice for them. Furthermore, citizens will be a given universal free healthcare which could offer a consistent and effective treatment to everyone and this system also somewhat prevents diseases or epidemics from being more prevalent to the society.

In conclusion, even though the publically funded healthcare costs patients at a lower price, it is impossible to avoid the fact that private systems are still more advantageous and they can supply better treatment than public ones do.