Some languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of other is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Speaking few languages have become a crying need of society in certain parts of the world quickly as opposed to rest languages that are falling. I however, consider, though it is a worthwhile development, the adverse consequences cannot be ignored.

Two glaring attributes of a positive development behind speaking some languages in different provinces are enumerated following. Firstly, being linguistic, the person is able to communicate with foreigners easily without any phobia. In the competitive era, for instance, in India where English has become the lingua franca. Apart from this, since in today's scenario, the majority of humans tend to go abroad after learning a foreign language, they can get myriad opportunities. Not only in terms of export or import overseas but also to be familiar with other nations' culture and customs. To cite an example, there are plethora of multinational companies in India that have become a cordial relationship Internationally.

Despite the above mentioned benefits, the detrimental aspects of speaking various languages in the globe can be quite severe. Initially, with the rise requirement of other languages, tradition is being vitiated by people. What is more, the new generation is forgetting their mother tongue. For example, punjabi subjects have been terminated in some schools for the past few years. Secondly, as various elderly people, especially those who live in the countryside, are neither capable of figuring out nor can they speak another language instead of their native language. So, in this respect, umpteen hindrances are confronted by old people when they cannot share their emotions with others.

To compendium and reiterate my opinion, although speaking various languages are benefical in order to communicate with foriegners and get tons of chances to know other culture and in field of import or export, its downside is somewhere as a bane for communities.