Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry.

Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, some museums and art exhibitions have an entry fee, whereas others' admission is free. Although charging an entrance payment is the main source for the building's maintenance, free admission would lead to more visitors to these historical sites. In my opinion, the merits outweigh the drawbacks.

One of the main advantages of allowing people to visit museums without any charging money is to attract more individuals. For example, a lot of people are interested in art but do not have sufficient funds to waste on entrance fees. By canceling this amount of money, more human beings are being able to enter. In this way, museums and art galleries would be well-known even outside of the country. Hence, the more tourists are attracted, the more the building and the city can benefit. Also, these sites consider cultural and educational spots for the students. If schools are encouraged to send their scholars to museums, it will help the youngsters to learn more deeply about their culture.

In contrast, if charging admission fees are taken away, the museums or art galleries may run at a loss or cause the structure to deteriorate. Maintenance is essential to uphold the buildings, so they ensure these places still stand in the future. Besides, there are some procedures that can be taken. For instance, the administration can provide a high technology protection system that includes advanced security cameras. In addition to that, individuals may donate some money, which can be used for maintenance, if they like.

In conclusion, preserving museums and art exhibitions and conserving such cultural buildings is necessary. However, abolishing entrance payment can help them to receive an influx of people. For that reason, the advantages of eliminating admission fees outweigh the disadvantages.