Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Indeed, children are often pampered with a multitude of kinds of toys. Although this is considered beneficial for kids in many ways, either in education or relaxation, the downsides will be far more significant.

There are a great deal of merits of providing children with numerous toys. First, a wide range of toys can stimulate creativity in children from early on. In fact, many of toys require children to think and solve problems, like puzzle and lego blocks, which in turn to foster their cognitive development. Second, toys keep children entertaining when parents are busy. This means that they will not feel neglected by their caregivers since they find toys attractive and fun for different colours, sounds and other functions.

Nevertheless, there are a whole host of drawback of this issue. First, toys are expensive, less money is spent on other necessities and future need. For example, low-income family can not afford for their kid's toys as they have to cover the bills and prioritize other basic needs, such as food and clothes. Second, by indulging children with a lot of toys, they can become unsociable. It is clear that most of the toys are for playing indoors, kids lack social skills and go out less for outdoor activities, like playing football and go swimming.

In conclusion, toys are conducive to children's relaxing and cognitive thinking, they do harm than good in many ways. By combining with other physical skills, parents will help their offsprings to have both physical and mental development.