Studies have suggested that children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things.

What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to reduce the time children spend watching TV and encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things?

It has been observed that watching TV becomes a dominant form of recreation over other activities that require creativity. My essay below will analyze some underlying reasons and propose some feasible solutions to this issue.

There are two major contributors to the situation where children show a tendency to spend time watching TV rather than creative activities. The first explanation is that telecasts have been growing in number as well as quality, which greatly appeals to children at a young age. Compared to the past when most TV channels were in black and white, or viewers could only switch to a limited number of programs, nowadays hundreds of channels with high-resolution graphics are available on TV. It is therefore understandable why children choose watching channels like Cartoon Network over other activities. The second reason is the lack of care as well as encouragement from parents. Busy life has pushed modern parents away from their kids, and they hardly have time to play with their children or encourage them to do some healthier activities like painting. Children, as a consequence, turn to watch TV during their spare time.

Measures should be taken to reduce the time children use to watch TV. Parents’ guidance is essential since they are closest to their children and it is easier for parents to restrict the amount of time allowed for watching TV. Although schools and teachers can also play a part, fathers and mothers would be far more persuasive and could resort to drastic measures such as corporal punishments if needed. Also of great importance is that they should spare more time playing with and encouraging their kids to take part in creative activities. In fact, with enough encouragement, children would feel motivated and cared for, hence more time spent on active exercises.

In conclusion, several factors are cited as causes for children’s propensity for adopting a passive habit of watching TV more than ever before, and children should be guided and encouraged to do more creative work.