Some people argue that fashion items cost too much money. Others say that this is acceptable because fashion is an important part of life.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People’s opinions differ as to whether or not people should pay an exorbitant price for clothing items while there are some arguments indicating that fashion has an indispensable role to daily lives. Personally, I hold a firm belief that fashion is necessary for human beings.

There are several reasons why people might argue that overpriced items are an unnecessary thing for people to spend their money on. Firstly, there are other necessities that people need to afford in their lives. Some people consider fashion to bring little improvement to their living conditions. Hence, they would rather spend their budget for reasonable purposes, such as daily food and accomodation. Therefore, spending an excessive amount of money for fashions is considerably wasteful. Additionally, some people have more priorities to complete than going shopping or just simply do not want to waste time making decisions about what to wear. Take Mark Zuckberberg, who is Facebook founder, as an example. He frequently appears in public with his casual plain grey T-shirt.

In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that it is understandable for fashion designers to charge extra for clothing items. First and foremost, fashion defines wearers because a group of people have a notion that expensive clothes represent their personality and social status. As a result, these people are willing to pay a fortune to own a unique article of clothing without hesitation. Moreover, pricey items are believed to come with high quality and durability. This is because expensive clothes and accessories which are elegantly designed and manufactured will offer distinct quality than regular items. Therefore, customers who pay attention to product quality will be ready to spend a huge amount of money on these items.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that expensive clothing items bring certain influences on consumers. However, I believe that it is justifiable to purchase extravagant clothes.