Some people argue that governments should not pay money for international aid when there are some disadvantaged people in their own country, such as the homeless and the unemployed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In some developing and underdeveloped countries, homelessness and unemployment are still pervasive problems and unable to be resolved yet. Therefore, it is argued that governments in these countries should prioritize helping underprivileged people in their countries rather than allocating money to international support. I totally disagree with this statement since foreign support enhances solidarity among nations, and is frequently channeled to resolve international issues.

First and foremost, overseas aid should be encouraged as it could strengthen international unity. To be more specific, fiscal and practical support could not only assist nations in times of difficulty, but also highly value decency. Additionally, this goodwill gesture also fosters friendly relations among countries, which might in turn lead to commercial concessions in the long-term. To cite an example, financial and practical support from the Russian government for Vietnam in the Vietnam War have intensified the cross-border relationships, and turned them into strategic partners in terms of the global economy.

Another reason why governments should contribute to international aid is that they are displayed for global issues. More specifically, climate changes and Covid 19 pandemic, for example, are not the problems that some particular countries have to tackle, but the whole world. When member countries have to confront such an urgent situation, the international funds are deducted for them to address the emergency. In other words, paying for overseas support not only contributes to the community, but also provides governments succors when being damaged, which would reinforce their sustainability.

In conclusion, although there are statements that the national budget should not be channeled into global aid, I would maintain that they would intensify the bonds among countries and lead to commercial benefits as a result. Additionally, when contributing to the international fund, the nations will benefit from them, and vice versa.