Some people argue that immigrants should adopt the local culture when immigrating to a new country. An alternative view is that they can adapt to new environment by establishing a minority community. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is an indisputable fact that the last 20 years has seen a dramatic increase in the number of immigrants to other countries on the grounds that the borders between nations become gradually blurred. Whilst there remains some disagreement as to whether immigrants should adapt to new cultures or they could stay in small groups and follow the own social norms, I intend to believe that it is the responsibility of immigrants to observe the accepted rules of behavior in their adopted countries, both written and unwritten.

On the one hand, it is an undeniable fact that there are a multitude of minority groups in different parts of the world. A particularly salient example is that in America, areas such as Little Saigon or China Town are well-known for the traditions and customs of Vietnamese and Chinese, correspondingly. These immigrants are inclined to utilize their own languages and follow their own social norms. Although cultural diversity could increase the color and vibrancy, it is my belief that distinctions might alienate migrants from the locals. These Vietnamese and Chinese, therefore, rarely participate in communal activities.

On the other hand, if migrants are willing to adapt to cultural norms in adopted countries, they are more likely to facilitate societal cohesion. A specifically notable example is that the young generation tended to learn new languages and adopted the patterns of behavior and societal rules in their destination countries and they literally became an indispensable part of these countries. It is my belief that similarities are inclined to unite people whilst distinctions are prone to divide. In this sense, too much cultural diversity is detrimental to both migrants and the locals; and a strong society is a homogenous one with shared values, goals, and beliefs.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that migrants should contemplate adapting to new societal norms and culture in their adopted countries. The large influx of immigrants to some countries nowadays might result in pressing matters at large and therefore, research into this phenomenon would be warranted.