Some people argue that job satisfaction is more important than job security, while others believe that they cannot always expect job satisfaction, and a permanent job is more important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that how satisfied we feel with our jobs is more important than job security, while others believe that doing a job that frees us from unemployment and gives us a stable salary is more practical and should be the major factor to be considered while seeking a job. I am personally in favour of the viewpoint of the first group.

On the one hand, I accept that having a job that ensures we have a solid income is crucial for a number of reasons. Firstly, given the fact that there are a large number of new graduates facing a problem of not being able to find a proper job on a yearly basis, staying in the same job is, therefore, a less risky choice than switching job to find job satisfaction. Furthermore, a stable income helps people to meet basic needs, for example, housing, healthcare service, education. Thus, they are more likely to prioritise to earn salary that can cover all these needs and have a sufficient amount of money to live comfortably.

Despite the above arguments, I believe that we should never give up on finding a job that can make us happy and fulfill. The first reason for this is being satisfied with what we do is a motivation for us to work harder. We are less likely to hesitate to explore different aspects of our jobs and learn from others. As a consequence, we can make progress on the corporate ladder, stand a golden chance to be promoted and receive a higher salary. In addition, job satisfaction is a vital factor to improve our general quality of life. Because of the fact that we have to dedicate the majority of our life to work, people who do not have the opportunity to do what they want might have a greater chance to be stressful and even have mental problems, such as depression.

From what has been discussed above, although some people claim that job security plays a vital role while we are looking for a job, I am of the opinion that we should seek a job that brings us a sense of satisfaction rather than stability.