some people arrgue that the best way to reduce crime is to longer prison sentences Others think there are better alternatives

It is true that some people claim that lenghthening the time one has to serve in prisons is the most effective way to reduce crime although others believe that there are better alternatives.

On the one hand, the claim that extending prison sentences may eradicate crime may be justifiable regarding the fact that severer punishments often work as deterrents against wrong-doers. Prisons work to correct misconduct and punish criminals by using psychological methods. Prisoners are isolated with the outside world, with their leisure time restricted to only a couple of hours per day, and most of their rights are taken away from them. Therefore, this horrendous lifestyle is thought to be an effective method to correct criminals and terminate future criminal intents. Most hardened criminals, for example, often receive life sentences as an example to prevent future criminals.

On the second hand, it is myopic to believe such method is a cure-all because not every man suffers from his own conscience which is what prison uses to punish and correct wrong-doers. The Ice man, for example, killed a hundred people without suffering any traumas. Therefore, lengthening the sentences of these people will be a waste of time and resources. Furthermore, a majority of criminals act out of financial burden and mental issues. Hence, the best way to reduce crime is not to longer sentences but target the root of the problem- mental treatment and reintergration of prisoners into the society-and this can be done in numerous ways. Havard University, for example, provide vocational courses to prisoners and help them be prepared for a fresh start. Moreover, prisons can include psychological therapies to treat prisoners with disorders and help them cope with future problems namely stress, discrimination, etc.

In conclusion, there are more effective ways o reduce crime other than extending prison sentences.