Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society Discuss both views and give your opinion

Many people hold the view that the purpose of going to university is to get well-paid jobs, while others think that university education brings wider advantages for both individuals and society. This essay will discuss both view and reach a reasonable conclusion.

On the one hand, those who advocate the aim of higher education is to get better jobs have ample justifications for their statements. The first reason is that in today's modern society, many companies require a university qualifications for a particular position in their jobs. In other words, the job market nowadays is very competitive, if you do not have appropriate qualifications for the job you want, you will rarely have the chance to promote your career. Moreover, the cost for getting in a university is expensive, if the purpose is not to get better paid jobs, people will not spend such a large amount of money to get this education. For example, the tuition fees for a seminar in RMIT University in Viet Nam costs over 100 millions VND, this amount of money is enormous for an average family to study in this university.

On the other hand, those who think that going into a university is important argue that the benefits of higher education are wider for particular person and community rather than just to get a high salary job. First of all, study higher education can help student develop independence. That is to say, to go into a college or university, students may live far away their parents and must take care of themselves. For instance, they have to live alone and cook by themselves, these things will help them to be more confident and independent. Second of all, if everyone study at university, the level of education of the country will increase. As a result, the rate of crime will decrease and people have a sense of security and increase well-being. Moreover, this will boost the economy of the country and the quality of education and medical as a whole, people will live happily without crime.

In conclusion, although it is partly true that people study university to get high salary jobs in some case, i still support the view that university brings us much more benefits for both individuals and community.