Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matter such as food, clothes and entertainment is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

it is believed by some people that children who are allowed to make their decisions on daily matters might grow up to be the one who only cares about their own needs. However, others argue that it is crucial for children to make choices on their own matters. In my opinion, I believe that decision making is a vital skill that all children should be encouraged to learn.

people deny decision making of children have their own reasons. Firstly, a society is a collective entity which cannot thrive if its residents only think about their own benefits. A child might grow up as a selfish person if he is permitted to be picky and only eat or wear whatever he wants. Furthermore, that child might be spoiled as he spends all time thinking about his own needs and force his parents to pamper his demands. Many young adults, for example, insist on hunting endangered species for pleasure and make an excuse that they have the right to choose the form of entertainment they want.

On the other hand, decision making does benefit children in some ways. First of all, learning to make choices on daily basis at an early age can help form a child’s personality. With guidance from parents, the child might gradually develop a strong sense of interest for a particular field. For instance, if a child is choosy when it comes to food, parents can instruct him to develop his favourite recipes, as a result, he might develop a strong passion for cooking. Additionally, making decisions about their own matters can enable children to be an independent person, who is manage to make sound decisions on which house to buy or which car to purchase.

In conclusion, while children can become selfish when allowed to be picky at their daily matters, decision making still be an important skill which is necessary to build with the support of parents.