Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

People are raised as a member of their family and society from their childhood. Children who are often given the opportunities to choose their everyday matters like food, clothes etc, it is possible that they will think about their own wishes in general, even when they grow up. While important decision making can help them to be self-reliant, it is not always beneficial, for both children and the society.

Children are inexperienced in a lot of things, including the matters that involve them directly, like food, clothes, entertainment etc. If they are allowed to choose their own food or clothes, it is very likely to result in some kind of negative impact over them. Children are not aware of many things that can affect them badly. For example, if children are allowed to choose their own food, they will most probably choose junk foods like ice cream, pizza etc which are harmful to their health. So things like these should fall upon the adults, who are aware of potential consequences of a certain decision.

By letting children choose what they want may also raise them as individuals who are only concerned about their own priorities over others. This kind of characteristic is not desirable at all as a social creature. Children should grow up as empathetic individuals to others, which is one of the most important human characteristics.

On the other hand, some people say that allowing children to make decisions concerning them is important. The logic behind this concept might be that children will not hesitate their own decisions as future adults. This might be true in some cases, but those aspects should be chosen carefully. Children may be allowed to make their own decisions in order to teach them self responsibility, but not always. Otherwise there may be a possibility that they will grow up as uncontrollable autocrats who are harmful to both the society and to themselves.

Therefore, children should be allowed to choose their everyday matters to some extent, which still should be under the supervision of adults, so the proper purpose can be served.