Some people believe that an armed police force would cause a high level of violence in society.

To what extent do you agree?

Social violence has been a cause for concern for many people. There is a belief held by some that the police force which is armed would make the society become too violent. This essay will argue against this theory.

For starters, the weapons that the police are equipped with would give them an air of authority and a sense of safety. This is helpful when they are confronted with dangerous situations. For example, when dealing with a group of gangsters, the firearm not only helps them feel better protected, but also provides them with the device to control the situation. Usually, the sight of the police with guns in the hands would put aggressive, fight-hungry people off. It is, therefore, of great use to reduce the chance of violence rather than exacerbate it.

In addition, there are strict regulations about the use of guns by which the police must abide. Before they turn to their guns in any case, they must quickly assess the situation based on their professionalism. Only case of great danger are they allowed to use this weapon, and they usually have to write reports to their senior to account for their course of action. However, there are also those who argue that the police do not always make correct decisions in the face of situations. It is obviously the case, but such cases are just few and far between. With all the rules restricting the free use of firearm, the claim that violence in the society has been at a high due to the allowance to use weapons among the police.

To sum up, while there are certainly cases where they police use the firearm inappropriately, I am of the opinion that such situations do not often occur and cannot be the contributing factor for higher violence level in society.