Some people believe that arts like music and painting should not be funded by the government. Others believe that these are importance for a society and need government funding.

What is your opinion?

Many people feel that government ought not to provide a fund for creative activities such as music and painting. I totally agree with this opinion because the taxes should be used for more important concerns to meet basic needs and artistic activities can be supported by sponsors.

The main reason why I believe government should not spend its money for art is because society still have vital aspects we have to focus on and provide financial support. To illustrate, our education, healthcare, infrastructure and defence now have many deficiencies and need enhancement to improve living conditions of all people. For example, many residents who are living in remote locations don’t have adequate essential utility (water and electricity), and infrastructure (roads, schools and hospitals) which leads their lives hard and difficult, if not extreme poverty. Besides, in the current background of international tension, government should furnish money in order to strengthen national security which guarantees a stable and sustainable living for all citizens.

Another reason why I support the notion that art should not by funded by the government is due to the fact that it can be funded by other sources like individual donors, corporations and institutions. Indeed, big firms always set aside funds and donors make monetary donating to contribute to the community, especially for artistic activities with various practical actions involving building cultural houses like theater and museum, and supporting money for these organizations, as well as supply artistic equipment for schools.

In conclusion, I completely agree that government money should not be used for art because this fund should be used for filling crucial needs of all people and other donors can help support artistic fields. Finally, I think the government’s money should be used carefully to create better lives for every people.