Some people believe that the best way to increase road safety is increasing the minimum legal age for driving cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, some people suppose that raising the minimum legal age driven vehicles like car or motorbike is the most effective solution to enhance road safety. From my point of view, I do not concur with this idea for several compelling reasons mentioned below.

There are two underlying reasons as to why increasing the driving age to reduce road collisions. First and foremost, this is because most of accidents are caused by youngster of carelessness. they are not mature enough to understand the severe repercussion and to be responsible for what they caused. Hence raising the driving age can protect them as well as other people when driving. In addition, it is undeniable that the older people are more experienced on driving; therefore, they are capable of handling unexpected situations on the road. According a survey of Havard University illustrates that a majority of road collisions are caused by teenagers than adults.

Nevertheless, I believe that increasing the required driving age can be substituted for some better methods. Firstly, government should encourage citizens to use public transports in lieu of private ones that not merely assist protecting the environment but reduce the levels of traffic congestion as well. Admittedly, the national leaders had better enforce traffic policies to fine commuters heavily and forfeit their driving licence if they break the law. Finally, the authorities should invest money in improving transportation infrastruture with a view to reducing the accidents as well as creating the best conditions for drivers.

In conclusion, although raising the minimum legal driving age can ensure the road safety to some extent, I suppose that government can address some more effective measures instead of above one.