Some people believe that the best way to increase road safety is increasing the minimum legal age for driving cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the feasible solution to enhance road safety is raising the legal driving age. I partially agree with this statement for the following reasons.

On the one hand, increasing the minimum legal age for driving car brings about at least two advantages to be mentioned. One of the main benefits is that the collisions rate caused by teenagers' reckless driving is more likely be lessened. This is because people who is in their twenties or thirties tend to have better awareness of traffic regulations, for example, avoiding drink - driving or driving in a wrong line. In addition, teenagers have more time to sharpen their skills to react to unexpected circumstances occurred on the road by participating in defensive driving course. This leads to minimizing a number of would-be traffic offenders which is on the rise in the past few years.

On the other hand, there are some considerable drawbacks. The primary reason is that nowadays, parents are usually occupied with their hectic schedules. As a result, children have to take driving by themselves to school or other education centers. If this law is imposed by the government, these young adults will not have the ability to commute independently and always have to rely on others who are able to get a driving license. Consequently, it is inconvenient and time-consuming. Another bad point is, students from unprivileged families need a driving license to make a living. As a matter of fact, many young adults work for Grab-bike service to earn money to prevent their parents suffer from financial burdens. Compared to being a waiter or security guard, working as a driver is a better option. They have flexible time and can receive more tips during the day.

In conclusion, I hold the view that both are true to a certain extent. There should be various solutions taken at the same time to deal with this problem