Some people believe that big multinational companies benefit the host countries. Others argue that they are harmful to the economies of developing countries. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about the role that multinational corporations (MNCs) play in nations. While other people agree that MNCs can damage the economies of the under-developed countries. From my point of view, I would say both arguments have validity, but I would lean toward the former.

On the one hand, there are two key reasons why multinational companies are seen as damaging to developing countries. First of all, the MNCs can drive domestic businesses out of the market. It is evident that global companies such as Apple, Samsung, and Microsoft are being dominated in the labor market which would make it hard for small local businesses to survive. Secondly, the global corporation can lead to environmental pollution and exploit the non-renewable natural resources, which can definitely pose a threat to developing nations. For instance, in Vietnam, recently a number of MNCs such as Formosa Plastic have discharged toxic waste containing cyanide and carboxylic acids into the surrounding water, leading to 18 tonnes of fish deaths along coastal provinces in northern Thanh Hoa.

On the other hand, the benefits of MNCs outweigh the drawbacks because it can lead to a healthy economy results in job creation. It means that if the government allows multinationals to operate in their countries, these companies will require massive employees and it will create more job opportunities for local people. To illustrate, the new Lego factory in Vietnam will invest more than 1 billion dollars to create up to 4,000 jobs for Vietnamese people. Another advantage of MNCs is cutting-edge technology. When MNCs set up headquarters in growth nations, these nations can inherit modern technology such as cyber security or fintech from it. As a result, MNCs will help progress the economy in developing countries.

In conclusion, some people are of the opinion that MNCs can threat to growth countries, but I believe that the activities of large multinational corporations mostly benefit the economy of developing nations