Some people believe that certain old buildings should be preserved more than others. What types of old buildings should be preserved? Do you think the advantages of preserving old buildings outweigh the disadvantages?

It is thought by some people that the preservation of ancient buildings is much more important than others. Personally, I believe that there are some particular old building types that should be preserved, and the drawbacks of this trend are outweighed by the benefits.

Several old building types are typically seen to be valuable to preserve. Firstly, certain old buildings hold historical and cultural significance that makes them worth preserving. These include buildings that are linked to significant events in history or that were once inhabited by famous people, such as government buildings and monuments. Secondly, owing to the unique architectural and aesthetic value, buildings recognized as exceptional examples of a particular style or period of architecture, such as the Eiffel Tower should be preserved. In doing so, we are able to develop a deep insight into the evolution of technology, building materials, and architectural techniques.

Preserving old buildings can bring several advantages which outweigh disadvantages. One of the most significant benefits is the preservation of heritage and cultural identity. Historical buildings serve as a tangible link to our past representing the physical and intangible assets of our ancestors, providing us with a sense of identity, continuity, and shared history. Additionally, preserving historical buildings can be a catalyst for economic development as restoring old buildings can create jobs, attract tourists, and increase property values, all of which can help to revitalize neighborhoods and communities. Take Hoi An ancient town as an example, it has become a landmark tourist destination that attracts millions of tourists on an annual basis.

In conclusion, I think it is far more vital to preserve culture and history through the preservation of specific historic structures than it is to impede progress.