Some people think young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others think that they should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions diverge on whether the youth core of society should conform to traditional customs. Personally, while I acknowledge that young people should rightfully have a certain degree of individualism, I still firmly believe that societal traditions should be maintained.

There are fundamental reasons why societal traditions should be upheld by the youth. To begin with, traditions serve the role of maintaining a society’s identity. By definition, traditions comprises all the conventional practices and principles which have been put together by past generations; thus, they reflect the society’s long-standing sets of values and standards. Therefore, the onus is on young people to follow these traditions, not only to maintain a sense of continuity from the past, but also to create social unity and cohesion. Furthermore, by following traditions, the youth can greatly benefit from the wisdom and insight of past generations. As such, they can save themselves unnecessary trial and error in life that would cost them time and energy.

Nevertheless, it still has to be acknowledged that young people have certain rights to behave as free individuals. The main reason is that some traditions can be rather obsolete or even oppressive in regards to the present context, so there is little point in following them. For example, Vietnam’s past culture of misogyny and gender imbalance has now been virtually eradicated owing to women’s growing awareness and demands for individual freedom and respect. Furthermore, in today’s age of globalization, it is inevitable that young people want to individualize. Admittedly, adopting novel practices and radical ideologies from foreign countries lends itself towards a unique, less repressed life. However, caution still needs to be taken as not to emulate inappropriate customs and habits, such as cohabitation or promiscuity.

In conclusion, young people should keep their individualism, but only insofar as it is in line with their traditions.