Some people believe that children should do what their parents tell them to do; others think children must learn to think for themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, people are divided in their opinion regarding whether children should make decisions by themselves or parents should support them. I wholeheartedly believe that in any life situation of the child, it is crucial for him to think on his own, and the decision should be made only by himself.

On the one hand, children should always obey and listen to parent’s advice, for there may occur any threatening situations. When the child plays outside, he should always be under the control of his parents. As an example, if parents do not take care of their child, he may be damaged by any stuff in the environment. Furthermore, there is no denying that children are too young to decide what is right and what is wrong. Due to their fragile and unformed psychology, they may commit many different actions which may harmfully influence their future development. Therefore, parents should always take care, control, and give useful advice.

On the other hand, it is vital for children to think on their own because it improves their logical skills. Many parents of prodigies say that children should learn to be individualistic and think critically in any challenging situation. Particularly, children should train their ability to think by solving a variety of complex problems connected with logic and real life. Moreover, if parents want their children to become independent and confident in the future, they should not give any tips in children’s life. By this method, the child learns to rely and trust only on himself. This will contribute to him become successful in the future. Hence, children should think about everything on their own.

In conclusion, compared to children who are always told what to do, children who think and act independently have better problem-solving skills and confidence, which will benefit them immensely when they face problems in life. Hence, I believe that children should be encouraged to think for themselves.