Some people believe that children should not be given homework every day, while others believe that they must get homework every day in order to be successful at school.

It is sometimes argued that teachers should not give children homework on a daily basis, otherwise some people think that it is necessary for children to have homework in order to achieve success at school. While I think homework should not be a burden for children, I still believe that homework plays an important role in students’ studies.

On the one hand, daily extensive amount of homework might have negative impacts both physically and mentally on students. The first reason is that the long school day has already made children exhausted and less interested in studying, hence they need relaxing and take part in other leisure activities. For example, students who are allowed to do some physical activities could develop their brain, flexibility, and personal growth after school. Besides, too much homework has bad effects on learner’s mental health including stress and depression. Being given a huge amount of workload can be difficult for students to finish and pupils have to pay full attention to do all of them. That is to say, a student who cannot finish his or her homework may be put under more pressure compared to their peers.

On the other hand, an acceptable workload can bring effective results for pupils to be successful at school. Firstly, the practice of doing homework can enhance the level of students’ performance at school. Since students often forget quickly what they learned at school, homework is a helpful tool for them to review knowledge and understand more about lessons. Hence, by doing homework, students can improve their grades and achieve good academic results. In addition, it encourages students to learn and solve problems independently when learners meet challenging exercises at their home.

In conclusion, children should be given homework but I believe that too much homework can certainly bring about more drawbacks than benefits in the long run.