Some people believe that children should spend all of their time with their family. Others believe that this is unnecessary or even negative. Discuss the possible arguments on both sides, and say which side you personally support.

It is undeniable that parental influence is crucial for the upbringing of children. However, this is by no means clear that they should spend exclusive time in the family, as we will discuss in the following paragraphs.

On the one hand, spending as much time as with children allows parents to establish ground rules for behavior. As a result, it can be helpful for youngsters to absorb conventions and codes of conduct which they can follow in the future. Meanwhile, the absence of bullying, truancy and delinquency can be achieved through the availability of family hours, that also should reduce the risk of falling to victim crimes such as abduction and coming under influence of negative peer pressure.

On the other hand, in society a lot of families are dual income or where a parent is a breadwinner means he or she is away from the family for a longer period of time, it is inevitable that children cannot spend all of their time with the family. After-school childcare and child-minding are often used in these cases and can be a viable alternative, if managed properly. Equally, it seems children can also learn a considerable amount via being in a well-behaved environment with their peers, and letting them play with no supervision may be a benefit.

In conclusion, it is admittible that family time is essential for bonding and absorbing positive patterns of behavior. Nevertheless, children can get lots of advantages outside the family too by being in the safe environment with the absence of parental care.