Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best
route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to
get a job straight after school.
Discuss both views and give your opinion.
When they finish school, teenagers face the dilemma of whether to get a
job or continue their education. While there are some benefits to getting a
job straight after school, I would argue that it is better to go to college or
university.
The option to start work straight after school is attractive for several
reasons. Many young people want to start earning money as soon as
possible. In this way, they can become independent, and they will be able
to afford their own house or start a family. In terms of their career, young
people who decide to find work, rather than continue their studies, may
progress more quickly. They will have the chance to gain real experience
and learn practical skills related to their chosen profession. This may lead
to promotions and a successful career.
On the other hand, I believe that it is more beneficial for students to
continue their studies. Firstly, academic qualifications are required in many
professions. For example, it is impossible to become a doctor, teacher or
lawyer without having the relevant degree. As a result, university
graduates have access to more and better job opportunities, and they tend
to earn higher salaries than those with fewer qualifications. Secondly, the
job market is becoming increasingly competitive, and sometimes there are
hundreds of applicants for one position in a company. Young people who
do not have qualifications from a university or college will not be able to
compete.
For the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that students are more
likely to be successful in their careers if they continue their studies beyond
school level.