Some people believe that crime is a result of social

problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of bad person’s

nature. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

People have different views about whether crime is a consequence of social issues and poverty or innate characteristics. While the personality of a person may contribute to the problem of crime, I believe that numerous social problems are the main reasons why people commit crime.

On the one hand, a person’s nature may result in many illegal activities. Firstly, someone who is cruel may turn to a career of crime more easily. For example, a student who bullied his classmates during school years is more likely to become a violent criminal. Secondly, bad characteristics such as laziness or selfishness are major contributors to breed future offenders. These personalities may shape an adult’s personality, lead them to the desire of money and spending without the presence of any efforts. As a consequence, instead of working hard to make an honest living, they tend to pose a threat to society by turning into robbers or thieves.

On the other hand, I suppose that social problems and poverty play a major role in a person’s decision when they decided to commit crime. In terms of social issues, there are many reasons that push the crime rate. For example, unemployment, which is a consequence of rapid urbanization, pushes people into resorting to crime because they simply can not find a job to support their families. In terms of poverty, people who have little money to make ends meet may come up with the idea of pursuing illegal activities as there is no hope for them to be honest.

In conclusion, although a person’s innate characteristics may play some roles in the reason of crime, it seems to me that social issues and poverty are both principal cause of crime.