Some people think that it is best to live in a horizontal city while others think of a vertical city. Discuss both views and gives your opinion

People have different views about whether living in a horizontal or vertical city is superior to the other. While there are some benefits to residents who dwell in a city which consists of low-rise buildings, I think it is more advantageous for ones who live in cities with skyscrapers and high-rise construction.

On the one hand, a horizontal city can provide some benefits to the people in some aspects. Firstly, people who choose to live in a city with predominant low-rise construction have more chances to achieve a better quality of life. Because the population density is not too high, everyone can have a private house with enough space for each individual’s hobby such as gardening, swimming or painting. Secondly, living lower to the ground can be safer for inhabitants. For example, when a jeopardizing situation such as an occurrence of fire take place, people will have enough time to escape from dangerous areas as they do not live too high off the ground.

On the other hand, I do believe that living in a vertical city is the best choice. A city with a lot of skyscrapers will have more space for public usage because there will be less land used for residential areas due to the amount of people who can live in high buildings. As a results, government can use this land to build new schools, stores, malls and hospitals that provide enough basic needs for the residents. Moreover, modernization rate is much more higher in other places which provide a lot of opportunities in job and education. For example, a student whose major is marketing can apply a job to a variety of companies throughout the city and have more selections since the development in services always requires a sufficient amount of staff.

In conclusion, although living in a horizontal city can be a great selection, it seems to me that the advantages of life in a city with skyscrapers makes living in a vertical city a better choice.