some people believe that damage to the environment is an inevitable consequence of the improvement of living standards. Do you agree or disagree?

It is said that improving the quality of people’s life would inevitably result in environmental loss. Although such phenomenon is prevalent in developing countries, it is imperative to combine our development with the well-being of nature.

Fostering an economy necessitates the exploitation of various natural resources. Apparently, to build a residential area, many swaths of forests will be felled, or to fuel the development of industrial section, different natural sources of energy, such as coal and oil, are exploited. More importantly, these extractive practices are of the essence to the growth of many developing countries, as not only can they create employment but also generate higher incomes for the whole nation. Therefore, to a certain extent, the betterment of certain countries, based on the enormous consumption of natural resources, would lead to loss of animal habitat and different types of pollution, which is evident in China where the level of atmospheric pollution is commensurate with that of its industrial growth.

However, in the long term, enhancements in humans’ life should be integrated into the integrity of environment. Humans require clean water, fresh air and the uncontaminated environment to actually survive and thrive. Consequently, were we unable to minimize the impacts of natural extractive activities, many would be likely prone to a variety of health problems, such pneumonia or lung cancer. Furthermore, damage to the nature also effects climate change, which leads to the higher frequency of natural hazards and ultimately, human existence could be threatened. As a result, sustainable development should be emphasized. For example, usage of green and renewable energy, like solar energy ought to be increased, while environmentally damaging activities, such as illegal logging, are to be fined and condemned.

In conclusion, even though the expansion of some economies will occur at the cost of nature, it is necessary to consider and gradually adopt other developing methods that are beneficial to society as well as the environment.