Some believe that money for education should mainly be spent on better computers while others believe it would be better spent on teachers.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinion is divided as to whether a national budget should be allocated more for computer literacy or improving teaching staff. Although abilities to use computers are of great importance to today’s economy, teachers are still considerably more valuable and deserving greater attention.

Proponents of the former view point out that increased funding for computer technology reflect shifts in modern society. such technology has gradually become the essence of current economy. Most of today’s professions require employees to at least have a basic command of computational skills such as producing an excel worksheet or utilizing search engines to search for information. Therefore, should this area of knowledge receive more funding, there will be an increased number of computers per students and time for computing lessons, hence allowing students to develop computational thinking and subsequently, manipulate such digital devices. As a result, such investments at early stage of one’s academic life would not only lay the foundation for further mastery of more sophisticated skills but also increase one’s employability in a computer-based economy. However, this thinking neglects the key finding in numerous studies that a wide base of knowledge is more important than early specialization.

Despite such benefit from funding computing education, teachers are a crucial influence on the development of students, especially young ones. it is well documented that most adults are grateful to at least one teacher who serves as a lifelong role model. This is because there is an emotional and intellectual connection between students and teachers. For example, the way a teacher elucidates a lesson and encourages their students could ultimately shape a child’s thinking and behaviors. Consequently, by increasing funds for teachers, more qualified ones will apply for jobs. More significantly, competent teachers who are currently underpaid are likely to be more motivated and appreciated with higher salaries.

in conclusion, though more spending on computers can help increase a student’s understanding of concepts behind such devices, which could help them well-prepared for future jobs, it is teachers who can effect positive significant impacts on the growth of a child, thus deserving better funding.