Some people believe that developments in the field of artificial intelligence will have a positive impact on our lives in the near future. Others, by contrast, are worried that we are not prepared for a world in which computers are more intelligent than humans. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that advancements in artificial intelligence will exert a positive effect on people’s life in the less distant future, while others fear that we are not poised for the era dominated by machines that are more intelligent than humankind. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints and give my own perspective.

On the one hand, it is certain that artificial intelligence can result in developmental changes in human life. Firstly, the emergence of artificial intelligence can improve a country’s medication system. In fact, through deep learning as a specialized offshoot of AI, medical experts can teach robots to execute tasks requiring much precision or provide remote diagnostics to people inhabiting deprived areas and seeming to have poor access to doctors or appropriate health services. Secondly, the applications of artificial intelligence can enhance productivity in the agricultural sector. According to that, machines facilitated by this state-of-the-art technology can assist farmers in collecting and sorting produce. Simultaneously, they can boost the operations of irrigation systems on a large scale, which have been manually done by labor workers in my country. Therefore, the growth of artificial intelligence can positively affect various aspects of people’s life.

On the other hand, the rapid growth of artificial intelligence can be disadvantageous. In fact, the technology may narrow down employment prospects that people have been responsible for. Particularly, workers doing entry-level jobs seem to account for the higher proportion of workforces. If robotics with more productivity are put in use, a number of human workers would be written off, which may cause a country to experience a high unemployment rate. However, in spite of possible technological dominance, there seem still unique characteristics, such as creativity, imagination, and emotional intelligence, all of which can set humans apart from other creatures. Therefore, people can totally upgrade themselves by nurturing those traits or pursue careers in specific fields that can not be superseded by machines, for example becoming artists, idea creators, psychologists.

In conclusion, artificial intelligence development can trigger some social problems, such as greater unemployment. However, human workers can acquire a significant number of advantages from this technology and upskill themselves to become more competitive in a digital era.