Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

society as a whole. While I agree that everyone has the right to access college education, I do not believe that governments should therefore make it free for all students.

On the one hand, the idea of tuition-free university education is attractive for various reasons. Students from lower socioeconomic backgrounds can have a chance to pursue higher education without having to pay huge sums of money for it. On an individual level, this may ensure every student, especially those from poor families, holds a graduate degree, which would improve their future job prospects and standard of living, while at the same time lowering poverty rates. From a societal perspective, societies can enjoy higher tax revenues due to increased employment rates, and a high level of civilised citizens who are less likely to commit crime.

Despite these arguments above, I believe that governments should not allow everyone to access college education for free. The main issue is that this would put a strain on state funding since the governments would have to cover all the tuition fees which could be better on other public sectors, such as healthcare, national securities and transportation. Secondly, because many students want to go to work right after high school to lead an independent life rather than continue their studies, offering free college education can be seen as a waste of money. Finally, if students knew they had to pay nothing to retake a subject, they would have less motivation to study hard and therefore pay less attention to their academic results.

In conclusion, it seems to me that governments should not offer free college education, and I prefer the current system where students have to pay tuition fees to attend university.