Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The subject of pursuing higher education is a widely discussed topic around the world.. These days, many people hold schools of thought about whether tertiary education fees should be covered by governments without considering the financial status of students. While there are reasonable arguments to support free university tuition, I strongly believe that counter-arguments should be considered.

There are many reasons why university tuition fees should be abolished. First of all, it is advantageous to students, especially students who come from low-income backgrounds or face financial difficulties because they will probably have more opportunities to upgrade their knowledge and find jobs so that they can earn money by themselves to better their own living conditions. Additionally, if everyone can be entitled to university, there will be more educated workforce with high skills, resulting in not only a prosperous economy but also a civilized society.

In spite of the mentioned benefits, the downsides of pursuing university without tuition fees also need to be considered. On the individual level, it has negative impacts on bachelor’s degree holders. In particular, the number of laborers may rise considerably if there are more and more university graduates. As a result, more graduated students will be probably unemployed although they have university degrees. Furthermore, on the social level, the free-college policy can put a strain on the state budget, which can lead to the increase in taxes and the decrease in welfare and many other disadvantages.

To conclude, although offering free education may have numerous advantages, I firmly believe that governments should not exempt everyone from paying tuition fees..