Question: Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether all high school leavers, irrespective of their financial background, should be entitled to free university studies has been a topic of vigorous debate, with some fervently advocating this idea. Others, myself included, however, believe that free tertiary education would come at the expense of many consequences for both the recipients and the government.

Granted, proponents of free-of-charge university education often cite its better chances of students securing well-paid jobs, especially for those who are underprivileged. Qualifications gained from higher education undoubtedly serve as a testament to the ability of employees, leading to potential job attainment and hence quality improvement. However, herein lies the rub: with a larger number of graduates, there might be increased competition in the job market. This, as a result, renders the possibility of getting a job in the future increasingly difficult.

The consequence of tuition-free university education is further strengthened by its impact on the government. Providing students with cost-free higher learning, including money, infrastructure, and faculty salaries, will put a strain on the government's coffers. This requires substantial resources, potentially leading to increased tax costs and the potential reallocation of funds from other critical sectors. Aside from this, zero-cost education can also be a result of the reduced value of degrees. If a large portion of the population holds university degrees, the perceived value of these degrees in the job market may decrease. This could result in a situation where having a degree becomes less of a distinguishing factor for employment, rendering qualifications secondary to job applications, making it harder for people to land a job as there are more complicated criteria required, such as test assessment, work experience, and temporary or contract work.

In conclusion, while there are justifications for advocating free tertiary education, I am against this policy, considering the detrimental impacts it has on both the government and the grantee.