Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Higher education attendance undoubtedly is an important element of one's life. However, tuition of attending have escalated in recent year, has engendered some concerns for students and the family. A school of thought that the government should be waived tuition. But this essay is going to prove that subsidizing college education will have more harm than good.

It is understandable why some people subscribe to the view that students should be allowed to pursue college without tuition fee. Proponents of tuition exemption may argue that this practice will enable more students, especially the disadvantaged, to pursue education college, which is conducive to their employment opportunities. But this thinking is flawed, the abolition of university tuition may take a toll on students' academic performance. As today most undergraduates have to pay for their education so they are an inclined study in earnest and apply themselves to getting good grades. Therefore, were this financial obligation to be dispensed with, students could be indifferent to their study and lose the drive to study hard. For example, they can skip classes or miss exams because they feel that failing does not cost them anything. Instead of that, the government should have some scholarships to encourage students, to be able to identify who is trying harder, more effort to increase an atmosphere competitive of students.

Another pronounced drawback is national finance, the enormous cost incurred to cover higher education tuition will put a strain on government coffers, leading to budget deficits, tax hikes or reduce welfare among others.

In conclusion, I do not agree on allowing state funding to make university free. While potentials benefits of college tuition waivers make it seem like a good idea, but I believe that the governments should not make it free for everyone.