Some people believe that everyone should pay for their own health-care in society instead of relying on the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that it is individual rather than the government should be responsible for their health-care. I am completely disagree with the idea and the government is obliged to citizens’ health-care system.

People who think that individuals should pay health-care themselves may consider their countries financial situation. In recent years, the sluggish global economy results in the sharp drop of tax revenue in many regions. They assert that the limited financial budget should be invested in more urgent domains, such as infrastructure construction or solving poverty in remote areas. Besides, they think that individuals should be responsible for the health condition of themselves. Therefore, those costs should not be charged by the governments.

However, as an essential consistent of social security system, health-care is one of the most fundamental welfare in any normal countries. The governments should firstly guarantee their taxpayers’ well-being and basic medicine insurance. Otherwise the social stability will be negatively influenced. Take the former USSR as a typical instance, whose disintegration could be mainly attributed to the collapse of social securities.

Another important fact should be noticed is that nowadays some medicines and therapeutic processes are too expensive due to their sky-high developing costs. For example, a bottle of anti-cancer medicine could even cost over 5,000 dollars and taking this medicine chronically will undoubtedly exhaust the patient’s family. If the medicine could be covered by the health-care system, it will to great extent alleviate the patient’s financial situation.

In conclusion, while it will hugely cost tax revenue of the government, it is essential for them to be responsible for people’s health-care charge.