As well as making money, businesses should also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

Making profits is recognised as the intrinsic character of enterprises in modern society. However, some people argue that enterprises have social obligation as well. In my opinion, corporations should not solely concentrate on making money, and tackling socio-economic problems is also important.

It is understandable that most corporations take making profits as their primary task. This is mainly because business organisations should ensure their survival in the fierce competition of the market. They have to continually produce fortune for the sake of maintaining the operation, covering the huge overheads, as well as paying those employees. Otherwise, it will be confronted with bankruptcy, which seems impossible for them making social contribution. Besides, the investment in developing and innovation of corporations is enormous, which is mainly driven by financial factors. Without making profits, it will be difficult for companies to solve societal problems in the long run.

On the other hand, it is also reasonable for companies to shoulder more social responsibilities instead of making money only. Firstly, in order to repay the society, companies should spare no efforts to improve the quality of service and products they offer, which is an essential requirement of social responsibility. Furthermore, making social contributions will to great extent boost companies’ reputation and enlarge their influence, which is beneficial for them making more profits in return. Taking Unilever, a world famous multinational corporation as an example, the company has had a profound record of giving medical or financial aid to the most deprived people of developing countries. Finally, those practices will also alleviate governments’ financial stress, making them have more money to invest in improving infrastructure construction, educational and health-care standard, etc. All of those actions will eventually benefit the society.

In conclusion, companies should fulfil social responsibilities as well as meet their financial objectives. Both of them will benefit the society and the companies themselves.