Some people believe governments should spend money in saving languages of few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a hotly debate on whether governments should using financial resources to prevent some languages from dying out, some people hold the opinion that every language is vital so government should protect it while others think that is just a waste of money. In my point of view, I think it is neccserary for government to use financial power to help those languages, but I also think those money might have better way to use.

As we all know, language is the window of culture and its own history, if a language disappear, it means a culture disappear. For example, there are some unique languages in the rural area in China, some villages have their own culture which using language as a plarform. This unique culture shows an important role in the whole Chinese history and it is useful for historians to explore more in history development.

But if one language is going to die out, it means there are such a small group of people still using it and it is not as an effective way of communication as common languages like English , at the meantime, protecting a dying-out needs not only a great amount of money but also hard work, so it need to consider that whether it is worth to spend so much in this case.

And I think there is still a lack of common languages education, so it is a more useful and meaningful way of government to spend money on. For example, English is the most common languages in the world, so in this global era it is important for everyone to learn English, but there are still a lot of people can’t speak English in China, so I think the government should spend more financial resources on encourage more people to learn English.

It is no doubt that government need to save languages from dying out and I don’t think that is a waste of money since such important roles every languages are, I do think there are some other way to spend money on languages. But it doesen’t means the government should only choose one to do, so why not do both?