Some people believe that history has no value in the contemporary world. But some believe that we still need history to learn from the past.

There is a constant debate between people who consider history to be a valuable subject and the people who believe it is useless and not of much importance in today's world. Personally, I believe that every subject has its own unique value and significance and going by that I favour learning it in classrooms.

Learn from your past mistakes- is something which is rightly quoted. Learning history is of utmost importance in order to avoid mistakes made by our ancestors and to follow a different path. History not just encourages us to mitigate the errors a person makes but also helps to explore the era that our ancestors lived in. It not only shares the values and virtues of the then time but also covers their wises. It shares with us the stories of great personalities who had done some extraordinary work in their respective fields. Stories of freedom fighters struggling day and night and sacrificing their life so that their next generation can live in peace, stories of famous kings who fought rigorously in war and captured territories, and also the stories of evil men and women meaning harm and causing a great deal of damage to the society are a few things that today's generation needs to know about.

However, there is a certain group of people who believe that the learnings of the past is of no significance. This may be beacuse they believe that the times our ancestors lived in and we live in are both very different and thus the solutions mentioned won't be of any help. Today's modern world doesn't like to follow a given restricted path. They are trend-setters and hence are not afraid to make mistakes as they are confident enough to find solutions.

In conclusion, learning history is a choice and every individual should decide accordingly. However, Learning from the past would definetly help an individual in betterment of his/herself.