Some people believe that if the police force carries guns it would encourage a higher level of violence in the society To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is commonly believed that police officers with a firearm can promote aggression in society. I completely disagree with the statement and this essay will explain why keeping a weapon is imperative in order to prevent the rising criminal activities and ensure people's safety.

To commence with, the principle reason why an officer should possess a gun is that they are professionally trained to use the shooter so it will not lead to violence. An officer will only use its gun in adverse circumstances where the life of citizens is in danger. For instance, a news article in The Vancouver newspaper stated that a policeman was able to save all the employees in the bank by immediately distracting the robbers with a gun and shooting them. Therefore, a self-defense weapon is required to be carried by police for their own and people's safety.

Another point to consider is that a weapon can promote discipline and reduce crime in the community. Because criminals will be aware of the available armed force, they will be less likely to follow offensive activities. Lawbreakers will be more cautious before committing crime, and hence the crime rate will deteriorate rapidly. Due to this, the general public will also experience a more protected environment and will feel secure. The more police officers have firearms, the more safe and secure our life will become.

In conclusion, having a gun with the officer provides a sense of security to individuals, reduces the unlawful activities, prevents so many lives and protects themselves. Hence, it is significantly clear that a policeman will never encourage violence in the society.