Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, people’s attitude to life situation has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although overcoming hardship should be encouraged, acceptance of unpleasant situations would benefit for people in life.

There are various compelling reasons to encourage people get over difficult situations. First, ambition to improve one’s situation could create life-changing event. For instance, one decides to give up their current jobs to pursue higher education, improve their skills and knowledge in order to land a high-paid job, thus they can afford for household’s bills, children’s better schools and taking care of their families. Second, improving an unfavoured situation could create positive changes in one’s mental health. Plenty evidence suggests that leaving an unsatisfactory job with unsupportive colleagues or mean bosses days by days could release one’s emotions and feelings, which not only takes away negative energy from surrounding environment but also offers new opportunities to add values to their life.

Nevertheless, acceptance is a vital attitude towards life situations. First, being happy with whatever one has could reduce greedy and mental health issues and increase positiveness. It is seen that many people live in poverty may experience difficulties in finance affairs, however, they are likely to have simple life issues, better bonding with family members and enjoy family time. In contrast, high-profile individuals earning significant amount of money could struggle with work and life balance, experience mental health issues or may end up in loneliness due to their busy schedule. Second, positive and negative situations are barely based on personal and subjective judgement. For example, though a low-paid job could be a dissatisfactory career to one person, it could be a dream of many others who wish to be able to work, to contribute for society and to support their family even with minimum wages. Therefore, it is impossible to evaluate a situation as good or bad objectively.

In conclusion, although self-improvement should be encouraged, self-acceptance is far more significant for people to enjoy quality of life. Should people accept and be happy with their current situation, they will be more contented and positive in life, which attracts positive changes in the future.