Some people believe that it is better to live and work in vertical cities. Others, however, think that horizontal cities are better for living and working. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that these days, the population is increasing significantly leading to the high demand for accommodation. While it is argued that living in skyscrapers are more convenient for inhabitants, I still believe that freedom and safety are main benefits, which bring better life for people living in wider areas than that in vertical cities.

Settling life down in high buildings can bring merits for our society such as land saving and ability of adapting over-population. Firstly, when people build more skyscrapers for living, they can spend wider lands for construct facilities such as companies, factories or schools. These constructions not only give them good conditions to grow economy, but also improve educational system for children. Secondly, It is undeniable that the number of inhabitants in the world increases dramatically. Therefore, forming vertical cities is the good ways for them to adapt to over-population. This is because there will be not enough accommodations for people one day if the population is overcrowded.

Meanwhile, protecting own freedom and living in safety are advantages result in choices to live in wider areas. When citizens have houses in wider areas, they can maintain the distance with other families. In other word, they can do everything they want in freedom without being disturbed or annoyed. In some cases, moreover, they can build or decorate their own houses in favorite styles. In addition, horizontal cities can bring people sense of safe. It is known that our environment is damaged significantly and temperature increases shapely, which can make fires occur in some living areas. Therefore, citizens can quickly escape from fires and save their lives in condition of living in wider areas.

In conclusion, having more land for economy and education and quickly getting used to over - population are reasons people want to live in skyscrapers, while other people prefer to settling down in wider areas. In my opinion, I think horizontal cities are better places for people to live due to safety and protection of freedom.